Three (Un)likely Cake Decorating Resources for Beginners

Any decorator knows there are always new things to learn about cake decorating. Not only that but there things that we know now that we probably would have loved to know when we first started out.

Here are three resources that I have come to know and love ever since I started decorating, and I mean, really decorating my pastries.

Youtube

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 12.30.30 AM

Duh! This just seems like a no brainer. But that’s exactly the problem. People are so used to going to Youtube for everything that they take for granted how great of a resource it really is. When I first started decorating my cupcakes, I would always find myself in the middle of a frenzy before I consulted Youtube to find a professional to show me how certain things could and should be done. So the next time you’re thinking about trying something new, please head over to Youtube BEFORE you get started to learn tips and techniques on decorating and working with new materials.Trust me you will save yourself the chaos. Here are some of my favorite channels:

Amazon

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 12.25.49 AM
Everyone knows Amazon it’s one of the top global marketing sites in the world. The reason why I love it is because you can find comparable decorating tools here for super cheap! For example there is a 55-piece cake decorating set for only $32.99! PLUS, shipping is free for certain items when you buy for $35 or more. So go ahead, take a look online and find some treasures.

Google Maps

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 1.01.58 AM
Google Maps is another great resource that I liked using when I first started decorating. Why? Because it was a place for me to find cake decorating courses in my area! Craft stores like Michael’s and Jo-Ann’s Fabrics offer great cake decorating classes that anyone can take advantage of. Feel free to check out their websites to find deals on decorating classes. You might even find a local cake supply store on Maps that offers courses too. Happy searching!

Leave a Reply

